

© Copyright 2004 by the American Chemical Society and the American Society of Pharmacognosy

Volume 67, Number 1

January 2004

## Editorial

## **Changes for Volume 67**

We are pleased to welcome Dr. Daneel Ferreira as a new Assistant Editor of the *Journal of Natural Products*. Dr. Ferreira will assist Associate Editor Dr. Alice M. Clark in the editorial office at the University of Mississippi. We are very happy to have this outstanding scientist join our journal editorial team.

This year, it is planned to have two special issues of the journal, in honor of some outstanding colleagues in the natural products field. The first of these will be in February and will be dedicated to the late Dr. Monroe E. Wall and to Dr. Mansukh C. Wani, both of Research Triangle Institute, in North Carolina. The cover illustration chosen for the period January-June 2004 shows a photograph of the National Historic Chemical Landmark plaque awarded by the American Chemical Society in April 2003, in honor of the work of Drs. Wall and Wani and their colleagues that led to the discovery of camptothecin and paclitaxel (Taxol). The plants of origin and the structures of camptothecin and paclitaxel appeared on the cover of the Journal of Natural Products during the periods January-December 1996 and July-December 2000, respectively. The second special issue of the journal will appear in August 2004 and will celebrate the achievements of two pioneers in the marine natural products field, the late Dr. Paul J. Scheuer, of the University of Hawaii, and the late Dr. D. John Faulkner, of Scripps Institute of Oceanography, La Jolla, California. The cover illustration for July-December 2004 will feature a marine motif to complement this second special issue of the year. We hope these special issues will appeal to our readers, and the editors especially wish to thank the article authors for taking so much time and care to write their contributions.

From August 2003 onward, authors have been able to submit their manuscripts to the *Journal of Natural Products* electronically through the Paragon System of the American Chemical Society. Potential contributors who wish to avail themselves of this convenient method of submitting manuscripts should access our Web Page at http://pubs.acs.org/journals/jnprdf/index.html. It is strongly recommended that authors submit copies of their important spectral data as Supporting Information, so far as possible, since this will assist future workers in identifying the same compounds. Authors submitting X-ray crystallographic data along with their papers for consideration should remember to provide the relevant materials for the reviewers (see the 2004 Guidelines for Authors in this issue).

Finally, the winning paper of our Arthur E. Schwarting Award (open to all papers) for 2002 was by James A. Nieman, John E. Coleman, Debra J. Wallace, Edward Piers, Lynette Y. Lim, Michel Roberge, and Raymond J. Andersen (*J. Nat. Prod.* 2003, 66, 183–199; this paper was submitted in 2002). Christie Boros, Barry Katz, Scott Mitchell, Cedric Pearce, Karra Swinbank, and Debra Taylor (*J. Nat. Prod.* 2002, 65, 108–114) were the coauthors of the paper selected for our 2002 Jack L. Beal Award (open to papers submitted by younger investigators). The authors of these two excellent papers are to be warmly congratulated. Readers can access these papers on our Web page at the address indicated above, which also describes the criteria used in the selection process, to be employed for the 2003 Schwarting and Beal Awards.

A. Douglas Kinghorn Editor-in-Chief NP030504L